top of page

Playwriting Contest

Kentucky New Play Series 2023

The 2023 contest has ended. See below for the winners. Watch this page for information about our 2024 content in late spring / early summer. Thanks!


Kentucky Playwrights Workshop announces their 2023 Kentucky New Play Series contest for 10-minute plays.


Submission window opens July 1 and ends at Midnight EST on July 31.



Submission rules:


  1. Playwrights must be a Kentucky resident at the time of submission.

  2. You may only submit one play for consideration, so send us your best. (If the play has multiple authors, it will be considered one play for all contributors.)

  3. Plays must be NEW with no more than one production.  Readings are not considered production.

  4. Plays must run 10 minutes or less.  Please read your play to make sure it is not longer than 10 minutes.  No musicals, please.

  5. Keep in mind that that while no topic is taboo, and no language is out of bounds, playwrights are cautioned that in a very conservative area, such language may reduce its production possibilities.

  6. Refer to this link for proper formatting.  It is important that all entries are written in the same format.

  7. Please include 2 attachments - One should be a cover sheet with your name and contact information (email, phone, and Kentucky address).  Include your play in the second attachment with the pages numbered and NO identifying information. PDF files preferred.

  8. By submitting to this contest, you are agreeing to accept the decision of the judges as final.



How to submit:


Submissions should be sent to


There is no submission fee, but if you would like to donate to KPW so we can continue these and other activities, please do so by visiting and click “Donate” at the top of the page. Judges will not be aware of any donation to KPW. Donations are greatly appreciated.





  • Submissions will be accepted in July.

  • Judging will take place in August.

  • Announcement of winners will take place in September

  • A Zoom reading of the winning plays will take place in October.



  • 1st place winner will receive $100 and a certificate of achievement.

  • 2nd place winner will receive $75 and a certificate of achievement.

  • 3rd place winner will receive $50 and a certificate of achievement.



1st Place: Recalculating... by Bill Brohaugh and Lisa Holt

2nd Place: C.A.G.E.D. by Chris Campbell

3rd Place (tie): And Eat It, Too by Erin Fitzgerald

3rd Place (tie): Grievances by JAM


2nd: Flagpole for Us by Brian David Walker
3rd: Hope Springs a Turtle by Bill Brohaugh and Lisa Holt
Honorable Mention: Catcher Released by Kate Barry

HISTORY OF THE KENTUCKY NEW PLAY SERIES:  Kentucky New Play Series (KNPS), first sponsored by William McCann, Jr. and later, the Kentucky Playwrights Workshop (KPW), began in August 2012 with the production of two new plays at the Kentucky State Fair.  An additional 23 short plays were produced at the Kentucky State Fair. Playwrights produced during KNPS’ first few seasons came from Ashland, Corinth, Flatwoods, Ft Thomas, Georgetown, Louisville, Lexington, Morehead, Richmond, Russell Springs, Somerset, and Winchester.  KPW is again seeking to recognize playwrights from across the state and to encourage the production of their plays by theatres and other groups (colleges, high schools, tourism offices, religious institutions, and others).

bottom of page